Berkshire Symphony

Berkshire Symphony Student Soloist Gala

Fri Apr 20|Chapin Hall|8:00 PM|free

The Williams College Department of Music  presents the Berkshire Symphony in concert on Friday, April 20 at 8 p.m. There is a pre-concert talk with conductor Ronald Feldman and student soloists before the concert at 7:15 p.m. in Brooks-Rogers Recital Hall, adjacent to the main venue. Both of these events are free and open to the public.

The Student Soloists concert features performances by winners of the 2018 Berkshire Symphony Soloist Competition. At the competition in February judges chose three outstanding Williams College student musicians to perform in the upcoming concert. Qiana Yang ‘19, piano plays Piano Concerto in A Minor, op. 54 – Allegro affettuoso by Robert Schumann. Calvin Ludwig ‘18, flute performs Poem for flute and orchestra by Charles Griffes. Benjamin Mygatt ‘20, violin offers Violin Concerto No. 1 in A Minor, op. 99 – Burlesque: Allegro con brio by Dmitri Shostakovich.

The Berkshire Symphony also presents Leonard Bernstein’s Candide Overture and Symphony No. 5 by Dmitri Shostakovich.

About Ronald Feldman
Conductor Ronald Feldman is twice the winner of the American Symphony League’s ASCAP Award for Adventuresome Programming of Contemporary Music. He has achieved critical acclaim for his work as conductor and cellist.

About the Berkshire Symphony
A very special orchestra, the Berkshire Symphony offers an extraordinary opportunity for both student and professional musicians, as well as the audience. By pairing students with their teachers and mentors throughout the rehearsal period and the season, Williams students are exposed to a level of professionalism and discipline that is rare in an educational setting. At the same time, the students’ infectious enthusiasm contributes to the Berkshire Symphony’s remarkable energy and rich sound.