Visiting Artists

Visiting Artist Series

Bigmouth CALBigmouth

Chris Lightcap ’93, bass

Craig Taborn, electric and acoustic piano

Tony Malaby, tenor saxophone

Chris Cheek, tenor saxophone

Gerald Cleaver, drums

Currently based in Brooklyn, New York, Chris Lightcap has worked with Marc Ribot, Regina Carter, Craig Taborn, John Medeski, Tomasz Stanko, John Scofield, The Swell Season, Mark Turner, Joe Morris, Chris Potter, Glen Hansard, Sheila Jordan, James Carter, Butch Morris, Ben Monder, Tom Harrell and others. His playing is featured on over 60 albums.

In addition to his work as a sideman he has led a variety of bands since 2000 and has produced four critically acclaimed albums of original music. Lightcap’s first two CDs as a leader, Lay-Up (2000) and Bigmouth (2003) were released on the Fresh Sound New Talent label and featured a quartet line-up with Gerald Cleaver on drums and Tony Malaby and Bill McHenry on tenor saxophones. Two years later he expanded the group to a quintet, naming it Bigmouth and establishing a line-up of Craig Taborn on keyboards, Chris Cheek and Malaby on tenor saxophones and Cleaver on drums. In 2010 Bigmouth recorded Deluxe, Lightcap’s third CD as a leader, on Clean Feed Records with alto saxophonist Andrew D’Angelo also joining the group on three selections. The Wall Street Journal called the recording “superb” and it was named one of the best releases of 2010 by The New York Times, NPR, The Village Voice, and Jazz Times, among other publications.

In 2006 he received a commission to compose for the ensemble counter (induction, which premiered his piece Wiretap at the Tenri Cultural Center on October 16, 2006. In 2011 he received a New Jazz Works grant from Chamber Music America. Bigmouth premiered Mr. Lightcap’s resulting work, Lost and Found at the Earshot Jazz Festival on October 28, 2012 in Seattle, WA. The work was subsequently broadcast on NPR for the show Jazzset with Dee Dee Bridgewater. A performance of the piece the following year was reviewed by The New York Times.  Bigmouth’s 2015 release on Clean Feed Records, Epicenter features this batch of music along with a cover of The Velvet Underground’s All Tomorrow’s Parties.