Jazz Ensemble

The Williams Jazz Sextet

The Williams Jazz Sextet leads off this series of jazz concerts. This group of young Williams musicians have a thing or two to say in their own special jazz idiom. The group does some of its own composing and arranging and always has a refreshing take on the standards. The Williams Jazz Sextet consists of Jonathan Dely ’15, trumpet; Andrew Quinn ’13, tenor saxophone; Daniel Schwartz ’13, guitar; Gregory Ferland ’16, bass; Brian Levine ’16, drums; Abe Sanchez piano. Coach and mentor of this group is Avery Sharpe, who is an Artist Associate in Jazz Bass, and Jazz Coach at Williams College. Mr. Sharpe is a renowned bass player who has performed with such jazz legends as McCoy Tyner, Archie Shepp, and Art Blakey, just to name a few.