Chamber Players

Williams Chamber Players

Poster by HVB Design

Poster by HVB Design

The Williams College Department of Music presents the Williams Chamber Players in concert on Friday, Oct. 18, at 8 p.m. in Brooks-Rogers Recital Hall on the Williams College campus. This free event is open to the public.

Williams performance faculty offers an exciting program in various chamber groupings, presenting classical, romantic, early modern, and contemporary works that showcase the versatility and musical command of these master musicians.

About the pieces
Oboist Carl Jenkins, violinist Joana Genova, violist Ah ling Neu, and cellist Nathaniel Parke present Benjamin Britten’s Phantasy Quartet for Oboe and Strings op. 2. Composed when Britten was just 19 years old, the name “Phantasy” refers to the form of the piece which is sonata-like, but in a single movement. This form played a prominent role in English music in the 1600s.

Ernst von Dohnányi Serenade for String Trio in C Major op. 10 is performed by Joanna Kurkowicz, violin; Ah ling Neu, viola; and Ronald Feldman, cello. Dohnányi was born 1877 in Hungary, and was a prolific composer from the end of the 19th century right into the middle of the 20th. His musical style reflects the century of his birth, which meant that his work was often neglected in the modern era. For any music lover the composer in general, and string trio in particular, are rediscoveries well worth making.

Discovery awaits the listener as well in form of the Concerto for Piano Trio and Percussion by Kenji Bunch. Born 1973 in Portland, Oregon, Mr. Bunch, is a violist and composer with an open musical mind. His composition is unabashedly modern, as he zealously transforms the music that a young American hears in the concert hall or on the car radio into something very energetic and very exciting. Joana Genova and Nathaniel Parke are joined by pianist Elizabeth Wright, and percussionists Matt Gold and Conor Meehan to bring this performance to the Williams stage.

Ludwig van Beethoven’s Trio in D Major op 70 No. 1 is often known by its nickname, “Ghost,” a reference to its association to a project that Beethoven might have been working on. An opera based on “Macbeth” unfortunately did not come to fruition, but Beethoven’s musical inspiration did not go to waste. The trio is performed by Joanna Kurkowicz, Ronald Feldman, and Elizabeth Wright.

About the Williams Chamber Players
The Williams Chamber Players is a resident performance faculty chamber music ensemble at Williams. The ensemble offers performers and audiences the opportunity to explore chamber music over a range of periods and styles. Distinguished performance faculty share the joy of making music together to the delight of student and community audiences.