2017 Berkshire Symphony Student Soloists Announced!

The Williams College Department of Music is delighted to announce the results of the Berkshire Symphony Student Soloist Competition for 2017!

The panel has selected:

Anna DeLoi ’18
, harp
Reinhold Glière – Concerto for Harp and Orchestra in Eb Major, op. 74 – Allegro moderato

Joyce Lee ’17, piano
Camille Saint-Saens – Piano Concerto No. 2 in G Minor, op. 22 – Allegro ma non-troppo

Tiffany Sun ’18, flute
Jacques Ibert – Flute Concerto – Allegro scherzando

Harold Theurer ’17, baritone
W. A. Mozart – “Hai già vinta la causa,” from Marriage of Figaro

The competition was hosted by Ronald Feldman, conductor of the Berkshire Symphony, and judged by a panel of guest musicians – Sarah Briggs (strings), Gili Melemed-Lev (piano), and Amanda Boyd (voice).

Mr. Feldman and Professor Marjorie Hirsch also extend their thanks to the supporting pianists: Elizabeth Wright, Doris Stevenson, Derek Galvin ’18, Robin Kibler, and a special thanks for Edwin Lawrence for his playing and for his administrative support. The competition would not be possible without the incredible dedication of our instrumental teachers, who mentor and support our performers. Thanks also to Jeffrey Miller, Stage and Orchestra Manager, and the concert team for making sure that the competition and recitals ran smoothly.

The student musicians have been selected for the honor of performing their pieces along with the Berkshire Symphony on Friday April 21, 2017 at 8 p.m. in Chapin Hall on the Williams College campus.

We also want to thank all of the performers (in performance order):

Tiffany Sun ’18, flute; Edwin Lawrence, piano
Calvin Ludwig ’18, flute; Edwin Lawrence, piano
Anna DeLoi ’18, harp; Edwin Lawrence, piano
Qiana Yang ’19, piano; Elizabeth Wright, piano
Sebastian Black ’19, piano; Doris Stevenson, piano
Celeste Pepitone-Nahas ’17, piano; Doris Stevenson, piano
Joyce Lee ’17, piano; Doris Stevenson, piano
Kevin Zhou ’20, violin; Edwin Lawrence, piano
Hannah Goodrick ’18, violin; Derek Galvin ’18, piano
Christine Pash ’18, soprano; Edwin Lawrence, piano
John Romans ’20, baritone; Robin Kibler, piano
Harold Theurer ’17, baritone; Robin Kibler, piano
Kurt Pfrommer ’18, tenor; Robin Kibler, piano