Competition Results Announced

The Williams College Department of Music is delighted to announce the results of the Berkshire Symphony Student Soloist Competition for 2024!


Molly Arts ’24, soprano

Jesse Cohen-Greenberg ’24, collaborating pianist


Giacomo Puccini (1858 – 1924) “Chi il bel sogno di Doretta,” from La Rondine     

student of Paul La Rosa


Rachel Broweleit ’24, cello

Bob Logan, collaborating pianist


Edward Elgar (1857 – 1934) Cello Concerto in E Minor, op. 85,  IV. Allegro

student of Julian Müller


Weiran Jiang ’26, violin

Jesse Cohen-Greenberg ’24, collaborating pianist


Ernest Chausson (1855 – 1899) Poème, op. 25

student of Joanna Kurkowicz


Edmond Laird-Raylor ’24, baritone

Jesse Cohen-Greenberg ’24, collaborating pianist


Charles Gounod (1818 – 1893) “Avant de quitter ces lieux,” from Faust

student of Paul La Rosa


Janine Wang ’26, piano

Doris Stevenson, collaborating pianist


Maurice Ravel (1875 – 1937) Piano Concerto in G Major, I. Allegramente

student of Doris Stevenson


The competition was hosted by Ronald Feldman, conductor of the Berkshire Symphony, and judged by a panel of guest musicians:
Joel Pitchon, John Perkel, and Amanda Boyd.

Mr. Feldman and Professor Ed Gollin also extend thanks to the collaborative pianists:
Doris Stevenson, Bob Logan, Jesse Cohen-Greenberg ’24, and Lucy Luo 27.

The competition would not be possible without the great dedication of our instrumental teachers, who mentor and support our performers. Thanks also to Jeffrey Miller, Stage and Orchestra Manager, and the concert team for making sure that the competition and recital ran smoothly.

The student musicians have been selected for the honor of performing their pieces along with the Berkshire Symphony on Friday March 8, 2024 at 7:30 p.m. in Chapin Hall on the Williams College campus.


We also want to thank all of the performers (in performance order):

Sarah McGinn ’24, soprano; Jesse Cohen-Greenberg ’24, piano

Isabella Hayden ’26, violin; Bob Logan, piano

Peter Miles ’24, baritone; Jesse Cohen-Greenberg ’24, piano

Emma Hennessy ’26, soprano; Jesse Cohen-Greenberg ’24, piano

Frances Hayward ’24, violin; Lucy Luo ’27, piano

Iona Kruger ’25, mezzo soprano; Jesse Cohen-Greenberg ’24, piano

Lea Obermüller ’24, soprano; Jesse Cohen-Greenberg ’24, piano

Want to see a list of all of our past student soloists with the Berkshire Symphony?
Link to soloists